Newsletter Items

Women at Yale logo

Women at Yale in Economics

As part of the 50th anniversary of coeducation in Yale College and the 150th anniversary of women students at the University, the Department of Economics would like...

Read more
Amanda Bayer (left) with Dean Michelle Nearon at Inclusion in the Classroom panel discussion

Amanda Bayer Shares Her Views on Inclusion in Economics

The Department was honored to host Amanda Bayer, Ph.D. ‘95 for a day of talks on October 2. Bayer is a professor of Economics at Swarthmore College who teaches advanced...

Read more
Peck Prize winners - Chalioti, Haile, Halac, Hawkins, O'Dea, Tsyvinski

2019-20 Merton J. Peck Prize Recipients

Six Economics faculty have been selected to receive the 2019 Merton J. Peck Prize for excellence in undergraduate teaching.  This year’s distinguished faculty members are: Evangelia Chalioti, Phil...

Read more
computer screen with stock graphs

New Joint Major in Economics and Computer Science Available this Fall

A new joint major in computer science and economics will offer Yale undergraduates hands-on research opportunities and prepare them to leave their mark on the world’s digital economy.

Choukhmane,Eckert,Yuan Gao ,Hubmer, Liu, and Graduate School Dean Cooley

2019 Trimis Prize Recipients

The George Trimis Prize is awarded annually to doctoral students in the Department of Economics who demonstrate exceptional academic achievement.

2019-20 Anderson Fellows - Finlay, Kwon, Min, Shukla, and Wang

2019-20 Arvid Anderson Fellows Announced

The Cowles Foundation has announced the 2019-20 recipients of the ...

Read more
Wayne Gao portrait

Wayne Yuan Gao Selected for 2019 REStud Tour

Wayne Gao is one of seven graduate students selected to present at this year’s Review of Economic Studies May Meetings.

Urjit R. Patel portrait

Urjit R. Patel to Receive Wilbur Cross Medal

Urjit R. Patel (Ph.D. ‘90), former Governor of the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) will be a recipient of this year’s Wilbur Lucius Cross Medal for his outstanding achievements and contribution to...

Read more
Jeffrey Talpins portrait

Jeffrey Talpins ’97 Endows Leadership Post at Tobin Center

Yale University has taken another step toward advancing domestic policy research, thanks to a leadership gift from Jeffrey Talpins ’97 endowing the faculty directorship of the Tobin Center for...

Read more
Yale Fed Challenge Team

Yale team victorious in Federal Reserve challenge

A team from Yale has won the Federal Reserve’s College Fed Challenge, in which competitors analyze the...

Read more
T.N. Srinivasan portrait

T.N. Srinivasan: economist was a powerful voice for economic reform in India

Thirukodikaval Nilakanta “T.N.” Srinivasan ’60 M.A. ’62 Ph.D., the Samuel C. Park Jr. Professor Emeritus of Economics at Yale and a leading intellectual force behind India’s economic...

Read more
Steven Berry portrait

Yale Announces Inaugural Faculty Director of the Tobin Center

Steven Berry, David Swensen Professor of Economics, has been appointed the inaugural Jeffrey Talpins Faculty Director of the Tobin Center for Economic Policy at Yale.


Economics Alum on the Board of Trustees

With the announcement of the new Yale Board of Trustees, including Senior Trustee, Catharine Bond Hill ‘85 Ph.D., the Economics Alumni News was inspired to ask Dr.

Stephen Freidheim portrait

Q&A with Stephen Freidheim, Tobin Center Donor

Stephen C. Freidheim is one of the lead donors for the new Tobin Center for Economic Policy. Steve is a long-time supporter of the Department of Economics. He received his B.A. in Economics in...
Read more

William Nordhaus wins 2018 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

William Nordhaus ’63 B.A., ’72 M.A., Sterling Professor of Economics at Yale University and the world’s leading economist on climate change, has been awarded the 2018 Sveriges Riksbank Prize in...

Read more