Chen, Meghir Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Wednesday, April 17, 2019
Chen and Meghir

Xiaohong Chen, Malcolm K. Brachman Professor of Economics, and Costas Meghir, Douglas A Warner III Professor of Economics, were both elected to the 239th class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Professors Chen and Meghir will join more than 200 other members elected into the 2019 class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences for their leadership and research contribution in the field of economics. Professor Chen focuses her research on econometric theory, semiparametric and nonparametric models and methods, sieve estimation and inference, and nonlinear time series. Professor Meghir’s primary research interests are in labor economics, the economics of education and development economics.

In announcing this year’s fellows, American Academy of Arts and Sciences President David W. Oxtoby said, “One of the reasons to honor extraordinary achievement is because the pursuit of excellence is so often accompanied by disappointment and self-doubt. We are pleased to recognize the excellence of our new members, celebrate their compelling accomplishments, and invite them to join the Academy and contribute to its work.” 

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences was founded in 1780 and is, “one of the country’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, convening leaders from the academic, business, and government sectors to respond to the challenges facing—and opportunities available to—the nation and the world. Members contribute to Academy publications and studies of science, engineering, and technology policy; global security and international affairs; the humanities, arts, and education; and American institutions and the public good.”

The new class will be inducted at a ceremony in October 2019 in Cambridge, Massachusetts, and join the company of Yale Economics Academy members elected before them, including Sam Kortum (2016), Pinelopi K. Goldberg (2014), Steven T. Berry (2014), Mark Rosenzweig (2013), Larry Samuelson (2011), Joseph G. Altonji (2010), Alan S. Gerber (2009), Donald Andrews (2006), Judith Chevalier (2006), Truman F. Bewley (2005), John Geanakoplos (1999), Peter C. B. Phillips (1996), Robert James Shiller (1994), Donald Jerome Brown (1992), and William D. Nordhaus (1984).

Visit the American Academy of Arts and Scicnes news release for the official annoucement and list of all the 2019 elected members.