Graduate Calendar

FALL 2020 [SPRING 2021]

Aug. 24, Mon. New student orientation week begins
Aug. 10, Mon. Fall-term Online Pre-Registration for Course Selection (OCS) begins
Aug. 27, Thur. Orientation for all new Teaching Fellows — Teaching @ Yale Day

Aug. 17, Mon.

Aug. 24, Mon.

Comprehensive Examination - Macroeconomics, 9:00-1:30, Virtual Exam
Comprehensive Examination - Microeconomics, 9:00-1:30, Virtual Exam
Aug. 31, Mon. Fall term classes begin, 8:30 am
Sept 1, Tues.

Due date to notify department of intention to submit dissertation for award of the Ph.D. in December.

Sep. 4, Fri. Final day to apply for a fall term personal leave of absence
The entire fall term tuition charge or continuous registration fee (CRF) will be canceled for students who withdraw from the Graduate School on or before this date or who are granted a leave of absence effective on or before this date
Sep. 11, Fri. Fall Class Add/Drop Deadline
Sep. 16, Mon.

Final day to file petitions for December MA and MPhil Degrees

Sep. 20, Fri. One-half of the fall term full-tuition charge will be canceled for students who withdraw from the Graduate School on or before this date or who are granted a medical leave of absence effective on or before this date.
The CRF is not pro-rated
Oct. 1, Thur. Final date for faculty to submit grades to replace temporary incompletes (TIs) awarded during the previous academic year
Oct. 1, Thur. Due date for dissertations to be considered by the Degree Committee for award of the Ph.D. in December.
Oct. 30, Fri

Midterm

Nov. 3, Fri. Readers’ reports are due for dissertations to be considered by the Degree Committee for award of the Ph.D. in December
Nov. 6, Mon. Final day to withdraw a degree petition for degrees to be awarded in December
Nov. 6, Thurs Oral Proficiency Assessment for international students in degree programs
Nov. 13, Fri. Departmental recommendations are due for candidates for December degrees
Nov. 20, Fri. November Recess begins, 5:30 pm
Nov 30, Mon. Classes resume, 8:30 am ONLINE ONLY
Dec. 1, Tues. Final day to submit petitions for extended registration and dissertation completion status for the spring term
Dec. 4, Fri Fall term classes end, 5:30 pm
Dec. 10, Thur. Graduate Course exams through Friday, Dec. 18
Dec. 18, Fri. Fall term ends (Winter Recess begins)
Dec. 19, Thurs Date of December degree award

SPRING 2020 [Top]

SPRING 2021 Schedule not yet available

Jan. 2, Thur. Final grades for fall term courses due
Jan. 8, Weds. Spring Term Online Course Selection begins (OCS)
Jan. 13, Mon.

Spring-term classes begin, 8:30 am

Jan. 17, Fri. MONDAY classes meet on Friday.  Friday classes do not meet.
Jan. 20. Mon. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day.  Administrative offices are closed; classes do not meet.
Jan. 23, Thurs Final day to apply for a spring term personal leave of absence
The entire spring term tuition charge or CRF will be canceled for students who withdraw from the Graduate School on or before this date or who are granted a leave of absence effective on or before this date
Jan. 24, Fri. Registration ends
Spring term On Line Course Selection (OCS) ends. Final day for registration
A fee of $50.00 is assessed for forms submitted after this date
Feb. 7, Fri. One-half of the spring term full-tuition charge will be canceled for students who withdraw from the Graduate School on or before this date or who are granted a medical leave of absence effective on or before this date
The CRF is not pro-rated
Feb. 14, Fri. Due date to notify department of intention to submit dissertation for award of the Ph.D. in May.
Mar. 2, Mon. Final day to file petitions for May MA and MPhil degrees to be awarded in May.
Mar. 6, Fri. Midterm
Spring recess begins, 5:30 pm
Final day to withdraw from a spring term course
Final day to change enrollment in a spring term course from Credit to Audit or from Audit to Credit
One-quarter of the spring term full-tuition charge will be canceled for students who withdraw from the Graduate School on or before this date or who are granted a medical leave of absence effective on or before this date
The CRF is not pro-rated
Mar. 16, Mon. Due date for dissertations to be considered by the Degree Committee for award of the Ph.D. in May
Mar. 23, Mon. Classes resume, 8:30 am
Apr. 1, Weds. Admissions Prospective Student Visit Day
Apr. 15, Weds. Reader’s reports are due for dissertations to be considered by the Degree Committee for award of the Ph.D. in May
Apr. 15, Weds. Oral Proficiency Assessment for international students in degree programs
Apr. 17, Fri. Departmental recommendations are due for candidates for May degree
Apr. 30, Thurs Classes end, 5:30 pm
May 1, Fri. Final Day to submit Dissertation Progress Reports
May 1, Fri Spring term final exams through Weds., May 6th
May 8, Fri. Final grades for spring term courses are due for candidates for M.A. and M.S. degrees to be awarded at Commencement
May 11, Mon. Oral Examinations through Tuesday, June 30th
May 14, Thu. Written Comprehensive Exam in Macro, 9:00 – 1:00 
May 21, Thu. Written Comprehensive Exam in Micro, 9:00 – 1:00
May 17, Sun. Graduate School Convocation
May 18, Mon. University Commencement
May 29, Fri. Final grades for spring term courses and full-year courses are due