Graduate Calendar

FALL 2017 [SPRING 2018]
Aug. 21, Mon. New student orientation week begins
Aug. 21, Mon. Oral Proficiency Assessment for international students in Ph.D. programs
Aug. 23, Wed. Fall-term Online Course Selection (OCS) begins
Aug. 24, Thurs. Matriculation ceremony
Aug. 28, Mon. Orientation for all new Teaching Fellows — Teaching Day at Yale
Aug. 29, Tue. Comprehensive Examinations -  Microeconomics, 9:00-1:00, Room B8, 28 Hillhouse
Aug. 30, Wed. Fall term classes begin
Sep. 1, Fri.

Friday classes do not meet. Monday classes meet instead
Due date to notify department of intention to submit dissertation for award of the Ph.D. in December.

Sep. 4, Mon. Labor Day, No Classes and Administrative Offices closed
Sep. 8, Fri. Final day to apply for a fall term personal leave of absence
The entire fall term tuition charge or continuous registration fee (CRF) will be canceled for students who withdraw from the Graduate School on or before this date or who are granted a leave of absence effective on or before this date
Sep. 13, Wed. Fall-term Online Course Selection (OCS) ends
Final day for registration
A fee of $50.00 is assessed for forms submitted after this date
Sep. 15, Fri.

Final day to file petitions for December MA, MS, and MPhil Degrees

Sep. 22, Fri. One-half of the fall term full-tuition charge will be canceled for students who withdraw from the Graduate School on or before this date or who are granted a medical leave of absence effective on or before this date.
The CRF is not pro-rated
Oct. 2, Mon. Final date for faculty to submit grades to replace temporary incompletes (TIs) awarded during the 2016/17 academic year
Oct. 2, Mon. Due date for dissertations to be considered by the Degree Committees for award of the Ph.D. in December.
Oct. 17, Tue. October Recess Begins, 5:20 pm
Oct. 23, Mon. Classes resume
Oct. 27, Fri

Midterm
Final day to change enrollment in a fall-term course from Credit to Audit or from Audit to Credit
Final day to withdraw from a fall term course.

Nov. 2, Thurs. Readers’ reports are due for dissertations to be considered by the Degree Committee for award of the Ph.D. in December
Nov 8, Weds. Final day to withdraw a degree petition for degrees to be awarded in December
Nov. 9, Thu. Oral Proficiency Assessment for international students in degree programs
Nov. 13, Mon. Departmental recommendations are due for candidates for December degrees
Nov. 17, Fri. November Recess begins, 5:20 pm
Nov. 27, Mon. Classes resume 
Nov. 27, Mon. Final day to submit petitions for extended registration and dissertation completion status for the spring term
Dec. 14, Thurs Fall term classes end, 5:20 pm
Dec. 15, Fri. Graduate Course exams through Weds. Dec. 20
Dec. 20, Weds. Fall term ends (Winter Recess begins)
Dec. 21 Thurs. Date of December degree award
SPRING 2018 [Top]
Jan. 2, Tues. Final grades for fall term courses due
Jan. 10, Weds. Spring Term Online Course Selection begins (OCS)
Jan. 15, Mon. Martin Luther King Day.  Classes do not meet
Jan. 16, Tue. Registration begins
Spring term classes begin
Spring Teaching Day at Yale; orientation for new Teaching Fellows
Jan. 19, Fri. MONDAY classes meet on Friday.   Friday classes do not meet.
Jan. 25, Thurs. Final day to apply for a spring term personal leave of absence
The entire spring term tuition charge or CRF will be canceled for students who withdraw from the Graduate School on or before this date or who are granted a leave of absence effective on or before this date
Jan. 26, Fri. Registration ends
Spring term On Line Course Selection (OCS) ends. Final day for registration
A fee of $50.00 is assessed for forms submitted after this date
Feb. 9, Fri. One-half of the spring term full-tuition charge will be canceled for students who withdraw from the Graduate School on or before this date or who are granted a medical leave of absence effective on or before this date
The CRF is not pro-rated
Feb. 15, Thurs. Due date to notify department of intention to submit dissertation for award of the Ph.D. in May.
Mar. 1, Thurs. Final day to file petitions for May MA, MS, and MPhil degrees to be awarded in May.
Mar. 9, Fri. Midterm
Spring recess begins, 5:20 pm
Final day to withdraw from a spring term course
Final day to change enrollment in a spring term course from Credit to Audit or from Audit to Credit
One-quarter of the spring term full-tuition charge will be canceled for students who withdraw from the Graduate School on or before this date or who are granted a medical leave of absence effective on or before this date
The CRF is not pro-rated
Mar. 15, Thurs. Due date for dissertations to be considered by the Degree Committee for award of the Ph.D. in May
Mar. 26, Mon. Classes resume, 8:20 pm
Apr. 4, Weds. Admissions Prospective Student Visit Day
Apr. 13, Fri. Reader’s reports are due for dissertations to be considered by the Degree Committee for award of the Ph.D. in May
Apr. 16, Mon. Oral Proficiency Assessment for international students in degree programs
Apr. 19, Thurs. Departmental recommendations are due for candidates for May degree
May 1, Tues. Final day to submit Dissertation Progress Reports
Final day to submit petitions for extended registration and Dissertation Completion for the next academic year.
May 3, Thurs. Classes end, 5:20 pm
May 4, Fri Spring term final exams through Friday, May 11
May 11, Fri. Final grades for spring term courses are due for candidates for M.A. and M.S. degrees to be awarded at Commencement
May 14, Mon. Oral Examinations through Friday, June 29
May 17, Thu. Written Comprehensive Exam in Micro, 9:00 – 1:00 
May 24, Thu. Written Comprehensive Exam in Macro, 9:00 – 1:00
May 20, Sun. Graduate School Convocation
May 21, Mon. University Commencement
May 31, Thurs. Final grades for spring term courses and full-year courses are due