Skip to main content

About the Department

Economics at Yale

is a challenging and rigorous center for research and teaching in economics, led by a distinguished and accessible faculty in a friendly, supportive environment.

Hillhouse Econ

The Department of Economics at Yale, together with its three major affiliated research centers, the Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics, the Economic Growth Center, and the Tobin Center for Economic Policy, is a world-class center for research and teaching in economics. Its more than 60 faculty span the full spectrum of subfields within economics. 

Our work not only expands the frontier of research in economics but also informs economic policy using state-of-the-art quantitative analysis.  Four present and past members of the Department's faculty have received the Nobel Prize in Economics: Tjalling Koopmans in 1975, James Tobin in 1981, Robert Shiller in 2013, and, most recently, William Nordhaus in 2018. The Department's 135 Ph.D. students and more than 50 pre-doctoral fellows come from diverse backgrounds from around the world. 

The Department offers three undergraduate majors—Economics, Economics and Mathematics, and Computer Science and Economics—with a total of 250 students graduating every year with one of these majors, and fields over 75 undergraduate and nearly 50 graduate courses every year. The Department also has close ties with professional schools at Yale in related fields, including the Jackson School for Global Affairs, the School of Management, the School of the Environment, the School of Public Health, and the Law School, where many of its faculty have joint or secondary appointments.