Newsletter Items

Merton J. Peck portrait

Inaugural Merton J. Peck Prize

Thirteen Economics faculty have been selected to receive the Merton J. Peck Prize for excellence in undergraduate teaching. As the award’s inaugural year, the prize covers both sustained...

Read more
Tobin Scholars Sarah Ngo Hamerling, Nicolai Parks, Jackson Simon, and Narek Alexanian

2018 Tobin Scholar Prize Recipients

Four economics majors were awarded the 2018 Tobin...

Read more
Amen Jalal video screenshot

New Video Promotes the Department

The Department of Economics is premiering a new video called, “Why Choose Yale Economics?” targeting potential majors and students of interest.

crypotocurrency - (©

Assessing Cryptocurrency with Yale Economist Aleh Tsyvinski

Since emerging a decade ago, Bitcoin and other digitally based cryptocurrencies have captured the imaginations of tech wizards, Wall Street...

Read more
Tobin with blueprint background

Tobin Center for Economic Policy Announced

Penny Goldberg portrait

Yale’s Penny Goldberg appointed chief economist at the World Bank

Pinelopi Koujianou Goldberg, the Elihu Professor of Economics at Yale, has been named chief economist of the World Bank.

Yujung Hwang portrait

Yujung Hwang Wins 2019 Dissertation Prize

The Human Capital and Economic Opportunity Global Working Group (HCEO) announced the winners of the 2019 dissertation prize: Yujung Hwang (Yale) and Yeon Ju Lee (University of Chicago).