Graduate Placement, 2018/19

Prof. Philip Haile
Graduate Placement Officer
Tel: 203-432-3568
philip.haile@yale.edu
Prof. Giuseppe Moscarini
Graduate Placement Officer
Tel: 203-432-3596
giuseppe.moscarini@yale.edu
Pamela O’Donnell
Placement Administrator
Tel: 203-432-3575
pamela.odonnell@yale.edu

Ph.D. Job Market Candidates


Shameel Ahmad


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Demography and Development in Colonial India"
Areas of Concentration: Economic History, Development Economics, International Economics
References: Timothy Guinnane, Naomi R. Lamoreaux, Daniel Keniston, George Hall
Email: shameel@brandeis.edu

Antoine Arnoud


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays in Macroeconomics and Computational Economics"
Areas of Concentration: Macroeconomics, Computational Economics
References: Aleh Tsyvinski, Fabrizio Zilibotti, Michael Peters
Email: antoine.arnoud@yale.edu

Leila Bengali


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Information Use in Consumer Decision Making"
Areas of Concentration: Behavioral Economics, Public Finance, Applied Microeconomics
References: Ebonya Washington, Nicholas Barberis, Syon Bhanot, Eoin McGuirk
Email: leila.bengali@yale.edu

Anna Bykhovskaya


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Peer Effects: Theory and Measurement"
Areas of Concentration: Time Series Econometrics, Matching and Market Design, Economics of Networks
References: Peter Phillips, Larry Samuelson, Donald Andrews, Anna Mikusheva, Eduardo Faingold
Email: anna.bykhovskaya@yale.edu

Jin-Wook Chang


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Debt, Collateral, and Networks"
Areas of Concentration: Financial Economics, Macroeconomics, Microeconomic Theory
References: John Geanakoplos, Andrew Metrick, Zhen Huo
Email: jin-wook.chang@yale.edu

Gaurav Chiplunkar


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Industrial Policies and Labor Market Frictions in India"
Areas of Concentration: Development Economics, Labor Economics, Applied Microeconomics
References: Mushfiq Mobarak, Costas Meghir, Joseph Altonji, Michael Boozer, Mark Rosenzweig
Email: gaurav.chiplunkar@yale.edu

Taha Choukhmane


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Saving and Investment Behavior"
Areas of Concentration: Public Economics, Household Finance, Behavioral Economics
References: James Choi, Nicholas Barberis, Costas Meghir, Cormac O'Dea
Email: taha.choukhmane@yale.edu

Fabian Eckert


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays in Economic Geography and Inequality"
Areas of Concentration: International Trade, Macroeconomics, Urban Economics
References: Costas Arkolakis, Giuseppe Moscarini, Samuel Kortum, Michael Peters, Fabrizio Zilibotti
Email: fabian.eckert@yale.edu

Wayne Gao


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Network and Panel Modeling"
Areas of Concentration: Econometrics, Microeconomic Theory, Economics of Networks
References: Peter Phillips, Xiaohong Chen, Larry Samuelson, Philip Haile, Attila Ambrus
Email: wayne.gao@yale.edu

Joachim Hubmer


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Macroeconomics and Inequality"
Areas of Concentration: Macroeconomics
References: Giuseppe Moscarini, Tony Smith, Per Krusell
Email: joachim.hubmer@yale.edu

Yujung Hwang


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "General Equilibrium Theory and Empirical Analysis of Immigrants' Neighborhood Sorting and Social Integration"
Areas of Concentration: Labor Economics, Macroeconomics, Political Economy
References: Joseph Altonji, Mark Rosenzweig, Aureo de Paula
Email: yujung.hwang@yale.edu

Donghyuk Kim


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Government Incentives and Firm Location Choices"
Areas of Concentration: Industrial Organization, Urban Economics, Labor Economics, Applied Microeconomics
References: Philip Haile, Steven Berry, Mitsuru Igami, Larry Samuelson
Email: donghyuk.kim@yale.edu

Tatjana Kleineberg


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Policy and Economic Opportunity: A structural general equilibrium analysis of persistent effects of childhood locations and cultural norms"
Areas of Concentration: Macroeconomics, Development Economics, Urban Economics
References: Giuseppe Moscarini, Samuel Kortum, Michael Peters, Fabrizio Zilibotti
Email: tatjana.kleineberg@yale.edu

Louise Laage


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays in Econometrics"
Areas of Concentration: Econometrics
References: Yuichi Kitamura, Donald Andrews, Xiaohong Chen
Email: louise.laage@yale.edu

Yukun Liu


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Labor-Based Asset Pricing"
Areas of Concentration: Asset Pricing, Financial Economics, Labor Economics, Macroeconomics
References: Toby Moskowitz, Aleh Tsyvinski, Stefano Giglio, William Goetzmann, Andrew Metrick
Email: yukun.liu@yale.edu

Max Perez Leon Quinoso


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Migration and Labor Mobility"
Areas of Concentration: Applied Microeconomics, International Trade, Labor Economics
References: Samuel Kortum, Lorenzo Caliendo, John Eric Humphries
Email: max.perezleonquinoso@yale.edu

Jeff Qiu


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Research Productivity and the Dynamic Allocation of NIH Grants"
Areas of Concentration: Industrial Organization, Applied Econometrics, Economics of Innovation
References: Steven Berry, Pinelopi Goldberg, Philip Haile, Mitsuru Igami, Olav Sorenson
Email: yinjia.qiu@yale.edu

Masayuki Sawada


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays in Theoretical and Applied Econometrics"
Areas of Concentration: Econometrics, Applied Microeconometrics, Labor Economics
References: Ed Vytlacil, Yuichi Kitamura, Yusuke Narita, Mitsuru Igami
Email: masayuki.sawada@yale.edu

Fabian Lorenz Schrey


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Applications of Network Theory in Economics"
Areas of Concentration: Economic History, Applied Microeconomics, International Trade
References: Timothy Guinnane, Naomi R. Lamoreaux, Michael Boozer
Email: fabian.schrey@yale.edu

Ling Zhong


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Three Essays in Labor Economics"
Areas of Concentration: Labor Economics, Economics of Education, Public Economics, Chinese Economy
References: Joseph Altonji, Cormac O'Dea, Emily Oster
Email: ling.zhong@yale.edu