Graduate Placement, 2019/20

Prof. Joseph Altonji
Placement Officer
Tel: 203-432-6285
joseph.altonji@yale.edu
Prof. Giuseppe Moscarini
Placement Officer
Tel: 203-432-3596
giuseppe.moscarini@yale.edu
Pamela O’Donnell
Placement Administrator
Tel: 203-432-3575
pamela.odonnell@yale.edu

Ph.D. Job Market Candidates


Sumeyra Akin


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Matching and Allocation Problems"
Areas of Concentration: Matching and Market Design, Game Theory
References: Larry Samuelson, Dirk Bergemann, Johannes Hörner
Email: sumeyra.akin@yale.edu

Ian Ball


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Information Economics"
Areas of Concentration: Information Economics, Mechanism Design, Game Theory
References: Dirk Bergemann, Johannes Hörner, Larry Samuelson
Email: ian.ball@yale.edu

Brian Greaney


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Inequality and Macroeconomic Growth"
Areas of Concentration: Macroeconomics, International Trade
References: Giuseppe Moscarini, Costas Arkolakis, Samuel Kortum, Michael Peters
Email: brian.greaney@yale.edu
An atypically dashing headshot of Philip Kalikman.

Philip Kalikman


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Housing, Mortgages, and the Financial Crisis"
Areas of Concentration: Finance, Real Estate
References: John Geanakoplos, Andrew Metrick, Andrew Haughwout
Email: philip.kalikman@yale.edu

Ro'ee Levy


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays in Political Economy"
Areas of Concentration: Political Economy, Public Finance
References: Ebonya Washington, Joseph Shapiro, Dean Karlan
Email: roee.levy@yale.edu

Minghao Li


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Heterogeneity in Monetary Economics"
Areas of Concentration: Macroeconomics, Monetary Economics
References: Giuseppe Moscarini, Zhen Huo, Tony Smith
Email: minghao.li@yale.edu

Yijia Lu


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Three Essays on the Law and Economics of Arbitration"
Areas of Concentration: Law and Economics, Institutional Economics, Applied Microeconomics
References: Richard Brooks, Dirk Bergemann, Alvin Klevorick, Lewis A. Kornhauser, Alexander Stremitzer, A. Mitchell Polinsky
Email: yl6330@nyu.edu

Yoko Okuyama


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Women's Participation in Decision-Making"
Areas of Concentration: Labor Economics, Political Economy, Economics of Gender
References: Ebonya Washington, Joseph Altonji, Costas Meghir
Email: yoko.okuyama@yale.edu

Nicholas Snashall-Woodhams


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays in Industrial Organization"
Areas of Concentration: Industrial Organization, Environmental & Energy Economics
References: Steven Berry, Philip Haile, Kenneth Gillingham
Email: nicholas.snashall-woodhams@yale.edu

Chen Sun


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Firm Responses to Trade Liberalization"
Areas of Concentration: International Trade
References: Samuel Kortum, Peter Schott, Rafael Dix-Carneiro, Michael Peters
Email: chen.sun@yale.edu

Hannah Trachtman


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays in Development and Behavioral Economics"
Areas of Concentration: Behavioral Economics, Development Economics
References: Dean Karlan, Costas Meghir, Christopher Udry, Jason Abaluck
Email: hannah.trachtman@yale.edu

Katherine Wagner


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays in Environmental Public Finance"
Areas of Concentration: Environmental & Energy Economics, Public Economics
References: Matthew Kotchen, Joseph Shapiro, Jason Abaluck, Joseph Altonji
Email: katherine.wagner@yale.edu

Conor Walsh


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays in Economic Growth"
Areas of Concentration: Macroeconomics, Economic Growth, Urban Economics
References: Giuseppe Moscarini, Costas Arkolakis, Samuel Kortum, Michael Peters
Email: conor.walsh@yale.edu

Xinyang Wang


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays in Economic Theory"
Areas of Concentration: Economic Theory, Game Theory, Mathematical Economics
References: Truman F Bewley, John Geanakoplos, Johannes Hörner, Stefan Steinerberger
Email: xinyang.wang@yale.edu

Jaya Wen


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "The Political Economy of State Employment and Instability in China"
Areas of Concentration: Development Economics, Political Economy
References: Mushfiq Mobarak, Nancy Qian, Mark Rosenzweig, Christopher Udry
Email: jaya.wen@yale.edu

Pengpeng Xiao


CV and Dissertation Abstract
Personal Website
Dissertation Title: "Essays on Gender Inequality"
Areas of Concentration: Labor Economics, Applied Microeconomics
References: Costas Meghir, Joseph Altonji, Ilse Lindenlaub
Email: pengpeng.xiao@yale.edu