Herb Scarf Summer Research Opportunities

2018 Scarf RA group photo

The program is supported by the Cowles Foundation, the James Tobin Fund for Undergraduate Research Opportunities (which was created by friends and former students to honor Tobin’s lifelong devotion to undergraduate education), Paul Joskow ‘72 PhD, and the Yale School of Management.

Proposals for Summer 2020

Note: The application portal will open on Monday, February 17. We will accept applications on a rolling basis until Friday, February 28. Faculty will aim to inform students receiving RAships of their status by Friday, March 6.

Herb Scarf Summer Research Opportunities in Economics is a program designed to give Yale students a chance to immerse themselves in ongoing research with their professors in the Department of Economics and other affiliated departments and professional schools. Working closely with a professor, students will get a better idea of what “doing research” actually means, and why a professor views it as exciting and worthwhile. Students will also have an opportunity to learn, through practical experience, some of the skills associated with the process of doing research – data collection, coding, writing, and other tasks involved in a research project. The program also includes group activities including faculty talks, programming lessons and social events that teach research and help build a community of RAs who can support each other.

Participating students (Herb Scarf RAs) will be required to work 160 hours from May 26 to July 17 (dates are flexible). The students’ work schedules will be arranged with the professors at the onset of the program. Because the goal of the program is to have students and professors working together, if you are selected for a project you will be expected to be in New Haven during the work period. After completing the projects, students will be required to write a summary (one page or less) of their research activities.  Participants will be paid $3,300.


Any undergradaute Yale student who has not previously participated in the program may apply, but students who have completed more of the required coursework in economics (particularly the core courses in microeconomics, macroeconomics, and econometrics) are more likely to possess the quantitative skills that professors find useful in conducting research. Herb Scarf RA positions are not available to seniors (Class of 2020) or students visiting Yale during the academic year.

Projects and Applications

The project descriptions (see below) explain both the goals of the professor’s research and the activities that undergraduates would be engaged in as part of that research. For some projects, the professor will be seeking a small team of 2 or 3 research assistants.

If you are interested in participating in a project you should submit an online  application form, including a curriculum vita (or resume) and a brief cover letter explaining why you are interested in the project. A copy of your application and CV will be sent upon submission to the professor leading the project and Qazi Azam (Undergraduate Registrar in the Department of Economics). You may apply to at most four projects (but accept and participate in only one!).  

Students will be contacted directly for interviews by interested faculty following the deadline. The awards will be posted on this site once faculty have made their decisions.

If you have any questions regarding the program, please contact Rebecca Toseland or Qazi Azam.

Scarf Research Projects

Summer 2020

Faculty Sponsor: Yair Listokin
Award: Rohan Garg

Summer 2019

Faculty Sponsor: Matthew Spiegel
Award: Jon Deuber, Nikita Saleev, Matthew Fantozzi
Faculty Sponsor: Matthew Spiegel
Award: Douglas Hagemeister, Annie Zhao, Mathew Jacob, Neil Braganza
Faculty Sponsor: John Eric Humphries
Award: Liana Wang , Aaron Dickstein
Faculty Sponsor: Jose-Antonio Espin-Sanchez
Award: Yagmur Yuksel
Faculty Sponsor: James Choi
Award: Rohan Angadi, Rob Brinkmann, Vod Vilfort
Faculty Sponsor: Mushfiq Mobarak
Award: Robel Mulugeta
Faculty Sponsor: Costas Arkolakis
Award: Peter Luff
Faculty Sponsor: Cormac O'Dea
Award: Ian Salvamoser, Michelle Kim
Faculty Sponsor: Eduardo Davila
Award: Raj Ramnani
Closed to further applications
Faculty Sponsor: Eduardo Davila
Award: Johnny Xu
Closed to further applications
Faculty Sponsor: Ebonya Washington
Award: Nikita Raheja
Closed to further applications

Summer 2018

Faculty Sponsor: Jacob Wallace
Award: Dominique Desroches , Cody Clements
Faculty Sponsor: Kevin Williams, Fiona Scott Morton
Award: Ryo Tamaki , Hersh Gupta
Faculty Sponsor: Yusuke Narita
Award: Devesh Agrawal, Keniel Yao, Fatih Celikbas
Faculty Sponsor: Yusuke Narita
Award: Jacob Carlson, Ling Dong
Faculty Sponsor: Jose-Antonio Espin-Sanchez, Dan Keniston
Award: Thomas Atlee, Benjamin Wong
Faculty Sponsor: Jacob Wallace
Award: Joseph Doran
Faculty Sponsor: Costas Arkolakis, Michael Peters
Award: Lydia Wickard , Loften Deprez
Faculty Sponsor: Michael Peters
Award: Jordi Bofill, Tra Nguyen, Farouq Ghandour, Gloria Wu , Chuang Tang

Summer 2017

Faculty Sponsor: Zoe Chance
Award: Charles Taylor '18, Katherine Xiu '18, Jakub Madej '20
Faculty Sponsor: Ivana Katic
Award: Sarah DiMagno '18, Eric Wang '18, Andreas Ravichandran '19
Faculty Sponsor: Costas Arkolakis
Award: Justin Katz '18, Jake DiCicco '17, Stanislav Atanasov '17
Faculty Sponsor: John Geanakoplos
Award: Yicong Shen '18, Ronny Choudhury '19, Adam Krok '19, Pascal Ungersboeck '19
Faculty Sponsor: Michael Peters
Award: Noah Stetson '18, Adam Harris '17
Faculty Sponsor: Michael Peters, Costas Arkolakis
Award: Andrew Sparkman '19, William Smith '19
Faculty Sponsor: Andrew Metrick
Award: Timothy Rawlinson '19 , Xavier Sottile '19, Yavuz Ramiz Colak '20
Faculty Sponsor: Abigail Friedman
Award: Sonia Wang '18, Nathalya Do Leite '19
Faculty Sponsor: Robert J. Shiller
Award: Lewis Ho '18, Michael Zanger-Tishler '18
Faculty Sponsor: Robert J. Shiller, William Goetzmann
Award: Nidal Hishmeh '18, Jacob Hoops '18, Shah Khan '19
Faculty Sponsor: Jose-Antonio Espin-Sanchez
Award: Cayley Geffen, 2019, Arjun Prakash '19
Faculty Sponsor: Joseph Altonji
Award: William McGrew '18
Faculty Sponsor: Dirk Bergemann
Award: Justin Young '18
Faculty Sponsor: Samuel Kortum
Award: Lixing Liang '18, Lihua Xiao '18
Faculty Sponsor: Mushfiq Mobarak
Award: Matthew Sant-Miller '18
Faculty Sponsor: Kevin Williams
Award: Nicolas Jimenez '19
Summer 2016 Herb Scarf Summer Research Projects
Summer 2012 SRO Research Projects
Summer 2010 SRO Research Projects
Summer 2008 SRO Research Projects
Summer 2007 SRO Research Projects
Summer 2006 SRO Research Projects
Summer 2005 SRO Research Projects (formerly ROME)